Muffin for Thought

So I was scouring the pantry and came across some chocolate cake mix and decided to bake today. Shopping, baking, movie watching, blogging, what a perfect day!!!!!! I try to use healthy alternatives in baking that don’t take away from goodness (doesn’t always work, but this is a definite winner!). After finding the cake mix, I remembered I had a leftover can of pumpkin from the holidays. Hooray! I substituted the butter, eggs, and water for 1 can of pumpkin (saves SO MANY unnecessary calories). And as a bonus, I added some semi-sweet mini chocolate chips to the batter that I had leftover in the fridge. BAM chocolate chip muffins!

Ingredients again: 1 box chocolate cake mix of your choice, 1 can pumpkin, & semi-sweet chocolate chips (or you could use white chocolate, peanut butter, milk/dark chocolate, ANYTHING!) 12 cupcakes took about 25 minutes on 325 degrees!

Don’t like pumpkin? GOOD because you can’t even taste it!

Best part about it (other than less fat/calories) ~ THEY TASTE SO DANG GOOD! You don’t even miss the butter! The pumpkin adds lots of moisture and almost makes them brownie-like while the chocolate chips add a bit of ooey-gooey 🙂 No frosting or filling necessary! Seriously, I ate 2 in 20 seconds. ENJOY!

3 responses

  1. being stuck on the couch for 4 days, i saw a lot of the “muffin top” infomercials – yes, about the unecessary fat roll some women have – and was telling lee today that i really needed a delicious muffin. those look DELECTIBLE! 🙂

  2. Seriously….I made these…I used carrot cake, cake mix…1 can of pumpkin and 1/2 cup white chocolate chips. I used the amount of water the cake mix called for but not the eggs or oil. I wasn’t sure if I should add the water but the batter was soooo stiff without it.
    These were outrageously delish..so moist and very satisfying and only 1.5 grams of fat!!

    Great idea missy!!

    Love you…Aunt N…..

Leave a Reply

