Family Recipe Feature: Sauce & Meatballs

So here’s the thing: My family loves food. And when I say LOVES food, I mean LOVES. The women on my mom’s side love to cook and one of the BIG deals in the family is pasta sauce & meatballs. Every family get together includes this sauce, meatballs, and different pastas. EVERY family get together, including Thanksgiving. My mom’s side of the fam is from Italy and they each make their sauce & meatballs just a LITTLE different. Today, I decided to try to make the family’s sauce & meatballs for the first time.

You must know that our family makes very smooth (no chunks!) tomato sauce, it’s not marinara. We also use (not always) pork in the sauce as well as the meatballs.
And it’s the B-E-S-T of all the R-E-S-T.

Aunt Denise, Momma, & Groomers (The Pros!)

So, friends, here is the recipe I used for our family’s delicious sauce & meatballs:

Ingredients for Sauce:

1 Large Can Tomato Juice (1 Quart)
1 Large Can Tomato Sauce
1 Jar Ragu
1 tsp Basil
1 tsp Oregano
1 tsp Black Pepper

Ingredients for the Meatballs:

2 lbs. ground chuck
1 cup Italian Breadcrumbs
2 eggs, beaten
1 Tbsp. water or milk
2 tsp minced garlic
1 Tbsp Ketchup
1/4 c. Parmesan Cheese
1/2 tsp S & P
Option: Parsley

First, get the sauce on (12:00pm).
Tip (I learned today from Aunt D): Be sure you do NOT USE a steel/metal pot. Must be non-stick!
Add 1 tsp oil & 1tsp butter in the bottom of your pan over med-high heat, then sear all sides of your pork.
Option: Add minced garlic in your oil before you put pork in, but you must be careful NOT to burn the garlic!

Add all sauce ingredients after pork is seared

Cover sauce, medium heat, and get started on your meatballs.

Mix all ingredients together except the meat.

Then crumble the meat over the ingredients & mix together, but do NOT over mix.
Form into balls & put on foil lined cookie sheet. Brown in the oven for 15 minutes at 350 degrees.

After they are browned (1:00pm), let rest for about 20 minutes, then add to sauce. After adding meatballs, I cooked on medium heat covered for 1 hour, then uncovered for the next 3-4 hours. After that, I just turned the burner to low to keep warm until Nile got home!

(6:00pm) See that oil/grease on the top from the pork searing/meatballs? Just take a spoon and skim it off the top to get rid!!

I decided to have rigatoni tonight (holds sauce best!!) with garlic breadsticks!

Here’s to a family food tradition & making my husband’s tummy happy!!

What are some of YOUR family food traditions?

6 responses

  1. I have never used pork in my sauce. What a great idea! I will have to try this the next time I get a hankerin’ for pasta (and the time to cook). I had to raise my eyebrows when I saw the Ragu! I can remember a day when no self-respecting Italian would admit to using Ragu in their sauce, although, it’s not like you just used Ragu and then threw in some garlic. I’m anxious to try this.

    Thanks, Cuz!

  2. Pingback: Challenge: 30 Things I Love About N (Part 1) «

Leave a Reply

