I’m SEW excited…. I’m sew…SEW…scared

Jessie Spano (Saved By The Bell) reference anyone??

So here’s the deal. I got my sewing machine to complete my goal of 2011 which is learn to sew on a machine. My machine is beautiful. I spent an hour at JoAnn’s getting all my materials, an adorable sewing box, and picking out fabric (most overwhelming thing ever!)
I couldn’t WAIT to get going! [7:00pm]

I threaded it on the first try and even spun the bobbin (that was fun!) But then, roadblock. It took me approximately 1 hour to figure out how to thread the bobbin…. but I eventually got it.

Thus, began Project 1: Drawstring gift pouch. Perfect for wrapping gifts instead of using paper or Β gift bags. Woooo hooooo!

Supposed to look like this.

By 10:00pm, this is how I felt:

Now, I did an OKAY job. I sewed a nice little cute pouch…

But here’s the problem: I was supposed to sew a little “road” at the top to thread the drawstring through, and this is how it turned out:

Not only is the stitching completely crooked, but I SEWED THE OPENINGS FOR THE DRAWSTRING SHUT! In the words of Homer Simpson, DOH!

I suppose it can still be used for SOMETHING. I think tomorrow I’m going to move on to Project 2: Napkins & come back & re-do the drawstring bag after that.

Until then, I’m going to enjoy one of my favorite Easter treats, the Cadbury Egg, clean up my mess, make a list of the things I need to organize my new “sewing” room, kiss the hubs, and head to bed.

Do you sew? What is your favorite thing you’ve ever made? Any tips for a newbie??

10 responses

  1. That was awesome! Your machine is a beauty! Filling the bobbin can be a challenge. So my question is, how long did it take you to make the pouch? πŸ˜‰ Well done!

  2. Seriously…how brave can you be??? You are so incredible!! The bag is adorable even without the drawstrings!! You could get a grommet tool (makes eyelets like on shoes) and put those around the top and lace a ribbon through the grommets/eyelets. You can get the grommets in all sizes and colors these days. It really is a good tool to have if you are a crafter. I use mine for alot of things and I think it was less then 10 dollars at Joann’s. Keep sewing girl!! you are so talented!! LOVE YOUR BLOG!!!

  3. how much do i love the saved by the bell reference? Whenever anyone says “there’s no time!” i break out into a perfect rendition of “there’s no time! There’s never anytime! i can sing, i can sing: I’m so excited, i’m so excitedd… i’m… so… scaredddd!” We for real ARE twins. i wish you were here to DIY my apartment for me! i’m looking forward to seeing more of your sewing projects!

  4. Aww, thanks for the Saved by the Bell throwback… such a great show. πŸ˜‰

    One of my goals for this year is to sew a piece of clothing. I just got my grandmother’s old sewing machine, but it’s 50+ years old so I need my momma to teach my how to use it. She’s coming this weekend and I’m hoping to learn! So we’ll see how I do, haha! Definitely share your napkins when you finish them!

  5. I’m impressed that you are teaching yourself to sew. I’ve made an apron and sewed some straight lines, nothing extremely difficult. My mom can sew and usually shes been by my side when I do try so it makes it a little easier. Once I finish school for the semester I might join you in your journey to sew. Take Care

  6. Fun!! I totally want to make an article of clothing (hopefully a dress or an apron) this year! Granted, I still don’t know how to thread the stinkin’ bobbin on my grandmother’s 50 year old sewing machine that’s been passed down to me, BUT! My mom is in town this weekend and I’m going to convince her to show me! πŸ™‚

    Your little pouch is so cute!! Can’t wait to see your napkins! πŸ™‚

    • Hi!!! πŸ™‚ For some reason, my blog spammed your comments! 😦 Boo that! Not sure why? It’s always let your other ones in!! Thanks so much for being so sweet! And it seriously took me 1 solid hour to figure out how to thread the bobbin. Now, it takes me 1 minute! Keep me posted on your Grandmother’s machine! I’d love to have a vintage machine!!

    • Kristy, My sewing machine is like my husband’s video game system. It has a name (Florence the Machine… get it?) πŸ™‚ and I spend HOURS with it so far! Napkins were super easy! I’m catching on quick & loving every second!

      If you are interested in the Home Ec e-course I’m taking (27 projects!!!), let me know! It’s all on a private blog with videos, pictures, etc. And all the projects are seriously AWESOME (curtains, bags, duvet cover, storage totes, bibs, skirts, hemming, bunting, etc.) Not sure how much machine experience you have, but I had NONE and am doing great πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

